Skip to content

#13 of 30 · Open-weight lab + cloud

Alibaba Cloud (Qwen)

Open models anyone can benchmark; own data centres now 74% clean electricity.

Hangzhou, China·alibabacloud.com ·Verified Oct 16, 2026
CMostly estimates
Index score
Mostly estimates

In plain words

How scores work

Alibaba scores 52 out of 100 — middle of the pack. Some disclosure or clean-energy commitments, offset by rising emissions or blind spots. Confidence in this score is mostly estimates (C).

What helps

  • Carbon · Alibaba Cloud's self-built data centres reached 73.6% clean electricity in FY2026 (+9.6 points); group-wide 62.2%.
  • Commitments · Scope 1+2 carbon neutrality by 2030 and a 50% cut in Scope 3 intensity.

What hurts

  • Carbon · Remaining load sits on China's coal-heavy grid, and a RMB 380bn AI build-out is under way.
  • Water · No water intensity or consumption figures for cloud operations are published in English-language disclosures.

What nobody knows

  • Per-prompt energy disclosed
  • Per-prompt water disclosed
  • Training emissions in model cards
  • Water-use effectiveness reported
  • Third-party verified AI figures
  • +1 more

Qwen is the most widely used open-weight model family out of China and ships in sizes from sub-1B to very large mixture-of-experts. Alibaba's FY2026 ESG report puts group clean electricity at 62.2% and Alibaba Cloud's own data centres at 73.6%, with net emissions of 2.3 Mt down 4.6% — a real improvement — but it discloses nothing about the energy or water behind Qwen itself, and is spending RMB 380 billion on AI infrastructure over three years.

Products
Qwen 3 · Model Studio · Tongyi
Hosting
Alibaba Cloud regions, primarily in China with international regions in Singapore, Europe and the US.

Key figures

Per-prompt and fleet metrics. Hover a title for what it means; open “How we got this number” for the working.

How to read the labels:Company figureCompany figure. Published by the company itself. We take it as given and record the scope next to it.Measured independentlyMeasured independently. Measured or estimated by researchers or analysts with no stake in the result.ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Not disclosedNot disclosed. The company publishes nothing on this and no defensible estimate exists.— hover any label.
Energy per promptElectricity used to answer one typical request. Under 0.3 Wh is good. A 10 W LED bulb uses 0.3 Wh in about two minutes.
0.20
Wh / typical prompt
≈ 16.7 smartphone charges per 1,000 prompts
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Hugging Face, Salesforce, Cohere, Carnegie MellonLuccioni, Jernite, Strubell (arXiv 2311.16863)Epoch AI

ecogpt.co estimate; no company figure.

How we got this number

Qwen3's flagship is a 235B mixture-of-experts model with 22B active parameters, and most traffic goes to smaller sizes; comparable to DeepSeek-V3's class and well below dense frontier models. Uncertainty roughly ±3×.

Water per promptWater evaporated cooling the servers for one request. Scope matters: on-site cooling only, or also the water used to generate the electricity (which adds ≈1.8 mL per Wh).
0.20
mL / typical prompt
≈ 0.40 500 mL bottles per 1,000 prompts
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Hugging Face, Salesforce, Cohere, Carnegie MellonLuccioni, Jernite, Strubell (arXiv 2311.16863)Epoch AIKoomey Analytics

On-site cooling only, so comparable with Google and OpenAI's figures.

How we got this number

0.2 Wh per prompt × 1 L/kWh (estimated WUE for Chinese hyperscale sites). Counting the water evaporated to generate the electricity adds ≈0.36 mL.

Carbon per promptGreenhouse gas from one request on the grid where it actually runs. Below 0.1 g is clean. A kilometre in a petrol car is about 170 g.
0.116
gCO₂e / typical prompt
≈ 0.68 km driven (petrol car) per 1,000 prompts
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Hugging Face, Salesforce, Cohere, Carnegie MellonLuccioni, Jernite, Strubell (arXiv 2311.16863)Epoch AI

Location-based: what the grid actually emitted. Renewable certificates would bring the market-based figure near zero.

How we got this number

0.2 Wh × 580 gCO₂/kWh (Chinese grid, location-based). Alibaba Cloud's own sites are 73.6% clean electricity, so its market-based figure would be far lower.

Annual emissionsThe company's whole yearly footprint, in million tonnes of CO₂e. Clouds and device makers dwarf pure labs because they also count shops, logistics or products. Compare the trend, not the size.
2.30
MtCO₂e (FY2026, net Scope 1+2)
Company figureCompany figure. Published by the company itself. We take it as given and record the scope next to it.iTiger (Alibaba ESG report)
Emissions trendDirection of travel against last year or the company's own baseline. Negative is good. Positive means the AI build-out is outrunning clean energy.
-5
% YoY (FY2026, net Scope 1+2)
Company figureCompany figure. Published by the company itself. We take it as given and record the scope next to it.iTiger (Alibaba ESG report)
Water per kWh (WUE)Litres of water consumed per kilowatt-hour of server electricity, across the fleet. 0.15 is excellent, 0.3 is good, 1.8 is the US data-centre average.
1.00
L/kWh
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Koomey AnalyticsAlibaba Group
How we got this number

No fleet WUE. Zhangbei uses free air cooling; most Chinese hyperscale sites use evaporative cooling. 1.0 L/kWh sits between hyperscaler best practice (0.15) and the US average (1.8).

Clean electricityShare of electricity matched with renewable or carbon-free sources. Annual matching counts certificates bought anywhere; hourly matching on the same grid is far stricter.
73.6
% clean electricity, Alibaba Cloud self-built data centres (FY2026)
Company figureCompany figure. Published by the company itself. We take it as given and record the scope next to it.iTiger (Alibaba ESG report)

Group-wide 62.2%.

Hardware & materials

The chips, power, copper and future e-waste behind the fleet — the part sustainability reports leave out

Factors we use
AI chips in service
300,000
accelerators (order of magnitude)
≈ 4,167 racks of 72 GPUs
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Data Center Dynamics

GPUs, TPUs or custom accelerators the company runs. Analyst figures are in H100-equivalents, company figures in physical chips.

How we got this number

Alibaba publishes no chip count. A RMB 380 billion (≈$52bn) three-year AI and cloud budget at roughly $25–40k per installed accelerator implies several hundred thousand, and the company says it is rationing GPU access. Uncertainty ±2×.

Power draw
390
MW
≈ 292,500 US homes' worth of power
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Data Center DynamicsSemiAnalysis

Megawatts the AI fleet pulls. One megawatt runs roughly 750 US homes.

How we got this number

300,000 accelerators × 1.3 kW each, all-in. Fleet power implied by the chip count.

Electricity a year
2.73
TWh / year
≈ 260,000 US homes for a year
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Data Center DynamicsSemiAnalysis

Terawatt-hours per year. One TWh is a year of electricity for about 95,000 US homes.

How we got this number

390 MW × 8,760 h × 80% utilisation. Compute fleet only.

Carbon baked into the hardware
154
ktCO₂e embodied in chips and servers
≈ 33,522 petrol cars driven for a year
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Data Center DynamicsarXiv 2607.05408NVIDIA developer blog

CO₂e emitted making the chips and servers before they answer a single prompt.

How we got this number

300,000 accelerators × 514 kg CO₂e each (chip plus share of the host server). Emitted in manufacturing, before the first prompt is served.

Future e-waste
5,100
tonnes of servers to retire within ~5 years
≈ 28 empty Boeing 747s by weight
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Data Center DynamicsNVIDIAThe Register

Tonnes of server hardware that will be retired in three to five years.

How we got this number

300,000 accelerators × 17 kg of server hardware each. Tomorrow's e-waste unless reused; generative AI could produce 2.5 Mt of it a year by 2030.

Copper in the build
10,530
tonnes of copper in the build
≈ copper for 126,867 electric cars
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Data Center DynamicsSemiAnalysisBHPS&P Global Market Intelligence

Tonnes of copper in cabling, busbars and transformers.

How we got this number

390 MW × 27 t of copper per MW (cabling, busbars, transformers).

Fossil generators on site
150
backup diesel generators (implied)
≈ 390 MW of backup capacity
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Data Center DynamicsSemiAnalysisLatitude MediaLatitude Media / Floodlight

Diesel backup units or gas turbines at the data centres, permitted or observed.

How we got this number

390 MW ÷ 2.6 MW per generator, the average size permitted at US data centres. Permit counts are not published fleet-wide; this is the number a fleet this size normally carries.

Hardware reused or recycled
—
No hardware reuse or e-waste figure published.
Not disclosedNot disclosed. The company publishes nothing on this and no defensible estimate exists.

Share of retired servers and parts given a second life.

Mineral depletion
—
Only Mistral has published a mineral-depletion figure.
Not disclosedNot disclosed. The company publishes nothing on this and no defensible estimate exists.

Kilograms of antimony-equivalent, the life-cycle unit for scarce minerals consumed.

Score breakdown

Each pillar is 0–100; weights are fixed across the index

Energy efficiency — How much electricity one answer costs.weight 20% · confidence C
65
Carbon intensity — How clean that electricity is, and whether total emissions are rising.weight 25% · confidence B
52
  • Alibaba Cloud's self-built data centres reached 73.6% clean electricity in FY2026 (+9.6 points); group-wide 62.2%. iTiger (Alibaba ESG report)
  • Remaining load sits on China's coal-heavy grid, and a RMB 380bn AI build-out is under way. Data Center Dynamics
Water — How much water the data centres consume, and whether it is replaced.weight 15% · confidence D
35
  • No water intensity or consumption figures for cloud operations are published in English-language disclosures. Alibaba Group
Transparency — How much the company actually publishes.weight 20% · confidence C
45
Commitments — Whether it has dated, measurable climate and water targets.weight 10% · confidence B
55
  • Scope 1+2 carbon neutrality by 2030 and a 50% cut in Scope 3 intensity. Alibaba Group
Conduct — How it behaves: permits, lawsuits, gas turbines, community water.weight 10% · confidence C
60
  • No environmental enforcement actions on record in the sources tracked here. Alibaba Group

Models

What this company ships, and what each prompt costs

ModelWeightsEnergy / promptWaterTraining CO₂e
Qwen 3
0.6B–235B (dense + MoE)
Open0.20 Wh Estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.0.200 mL Estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.3,400 t Estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.

Where the compute lives

Named sites from company disclosures and press reporting

OperationalConstructionPlanned
  • HangzhouZhejiang, China
  • ZhangbeiHebei, China · Wind-powered campus.
  • SingaporeSingapore