#11 of 30 · Cloud + AI lab
Amazon (AWS / Nova)
The lowest disclosed water intensity, inside the largest and fastest-growing footprint.
In plain words
How scores workAmazon scores 57 out of 100 — middle of the pack. Some disclosure or clean-energy commitments, offset by rising emissions or blind spots. Confidence in this score is good confidence (B).
What helps
- Carbon · Matched 100% of electricity with renewable energy for a third year on an annual, global basis; net-zero target 2040.
- Water · Data-centre WUE of 0.15 L/kWh in 2024, a 17% improvement year on year and the lowest disclosed figure in this index.
- Water · 53% of the way to returning more water than AWS operations use by 2030.
What hurts
- Efficiency · No per-prompt or per-model energy figures for Nova or Bedrock; efficiency claims are hardware-level (Trainium2, PUE 1.14) only.
- Carbon · Absolute emissions rose 16% in 2025 to 80.85 MtCO₂e — the largest single-year increase since Amazon began tracking — with Scope 2 up 34%, mainly data centres.
- Carbon · Absolute energy consumption for AWS is still not disclosed; the report is limited to efficiency metrics.
What nobody knows
- Per-prompt energy disclosed
- Per-prompt water disclosed
- Training emissions in model cards
AWS hosts Anthropic's Claude on Trainium (Project Rainier), serves Amazon's own Nova models and much of the industry's inference. Its 2024 WUE of 0.15 L/kWh is the lowest disclosed in the index and it has matched 100% of electricity with renewables three years running — but absolute emissions jumped 16% in 2025 to 80.9 MtCO₂e, the biggest rise since it began reporting, Scope 2 rose 34% on data centres, and AWS still does not disclose how much electricity it uses.
Key figures
Per-prompt and fleet metrics. Hover a title for what it means; open “How we got this number” for the working.
ecogpt.co estimate; no company figure.
How we got this number
Amazon's Nova models are mid-size and served on its own Trainium and Inferentia chips; that puts them between the measured sub-10B median (0.04 Wh) and frontier models (≈0.3 Wh). Uncertainty roughly ±3×.
On-site cooling only, so comparable with Google and OpenAI's figures.
How we got this number
0.25 Wh per prompt × 0.15 L/kWh (AWS's disclosed fleet WUE). Counting the water evaporated to generate the electricity adds ≈0.45 mL.
Location-based: what the grid actually emitted. Renewable certificates would bring the market-based figure near zero.
How we got this number
0.25 Wh × 390 gCO₂/kWh (US grid, location-based).
Whole company, including retail and logistics.
Scope 2 +34%, Scope 3 +20%.
Annual and global, not hourly.
Hardware & materials
The chips, power, copper and future e-waste behind the fleet — the part sustainability reports leave out
GPUs, TPUs or custom accelerators the company runs. Analyst figures are in H100-equivalents, company figures in physical chips.
How we got this number
Roughly half AMD GPUs, half AWS Trainium; Project Rainier alone is ≈500,000 Trainium2 chips.
Megawatts the AI fleet pulls. One megawatt runs roughly 750 US homes.
How we got this number
2,500,000 accelerators × 1.3 kW each, all-in. Fleet power implied by the chip count.
Terawatt-hours per year. One TWh is a year of electricity for about 95,000 US homes.
How we got this number
3250 MW × 8,760 h × 80% utilisation. Compute fleet only.
CO₂e emitted making the chips and servers before they answer a single prompt.
How we got this number
2,500,000 accelerators × 514 kg CO₂e each (chip plus share of the host server). Emitted in manufacturing, before the first prompt is served.
Tonnes of server hardware that will be retired in three to five years.
How we got this number
2,500,000 accelerators × 17 kg of server hardware each. Tomorrow's e-waste unless reused; generative AI could produce 2.5 Mt of it a year by 2030.
Tonnes of copper in cabling, busbars and transformers.
How we got this number
3,250 MW × 27 t of copper per MW (cabling, busbars, transformers).
Diesel backup units or gas turbines at the data centres, permitted or observed.
How we got this number
3,250 MW ÷ 2.6 MW per generator, the average size permitted at US data centres. Permit counts are not published fleet-wide; this is the number a fleet this size normally carries.
Share of retired servers and parts given a second life.
Kilograms of antimony-equivalent, the life-cycle unit for scarce minerals consumed.
Score breakdown
Each pillar is 0–100; weights are fixed across the index
- Absolute emissions rose 16% in 2025 to 80.85 MtCO₂e — the largest single-year increase since Amazon began tracking — with Scope 2 up 34%, mainly data centres. Data Center Dynamics
- Matched 100% of electricity with renewable energy for a third year on an annual, global basis; net-zero target 2040. Data Center DynamicsAmazon
- Absolute energy consumption for AWS is still not disclosed; the report is limited to efficiency metrics. Data Center Dynamics
- Annual report with PUE 1.14 and WUE; regions published; no AI-specific disclosures and no AWS electricity total. AmazonData Center Dynamics
- Net-zero carbon by 2040 (Climate Pledge) and water positive by 2030. Amazon
- No AI-specific enforcement actions on record; rapid Rainier build-out in Indiana relies on outside-air cooling per AWS. Amazon
Models
What this company ships, and what each prompt costs
| Model | Weights | Energy / prompt | Water | Training CO₂e |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon Nova Pro Mid-size (undisclosed) | Closed | 0.25 Wh Estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement. | 0.037 mL Estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement. | 3,000 t Estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement. |
Where the compute lives
Named sites from company disclosures and press reporting
- Northern Virginia (us-east-1)Virginia, USA
- Project RainierSt. Joseph County, Indiana, USA · ≈500,000 Trainium2 chips for Anthropic.
- Umatilla / BoardmanOregon, USA
- Dublin (eu-west-1)Ireland
- SingaporeSingapore
Timeline
Incidents and developments involving this company
Amazon's emissions jump 16% to 80.9 Mt — its largest rise ever — on record data-centre additions
Amazon's 2025 sustainability report shows absolute emissions of 80.85 MtCO₂e, up 16% in a year, with Scope 2 up 34% on data-centre electricity. AWS still does not disclose how much electricity it uses; the report is limited to PUE (1.14) and WUE.
Amazon's emissions rise 6% to 68.25 Mt while AWS posts the lowest water intensity disclosed
Absolute emissions grew from 64.38 to 68.25 MtCO₂e in 2024 as carbon intensity per dollar fell 4%. AWS reported PUE 1.15 and WUE 0.15 L/kWh, a 17% improvement.