Skip to content

#10 of 30 · AI lab + cloud

Tencent (Hunyuan)

Half its electricity now green, PUE capped at 1.25, GPUs rationed by export rules.

Shenzhen, China·tencent.com ·Verified Oct 16, 2026
BGood confidence
Index score
Good confidence

In plain words

How scores work

Tencent scores 58 out of 100 — middle of the pack. Some disclosure or clean-energy commitments, offset by rising emissions or blind spots. Confidence in this score is good confidence (B).

What helps

  • Efficiency · Average PUE 1.246 under a 1.25 cap; modular T-Block design reaches 1.06.
  • Carbon · Renewable electricity 48.5% in 2025, up from 22% in 2024, and 82.9% at owned data centres; 6.5 billion kWh of green power procured; 80 MW of on-site generation built or under way.
  • Commitments · 70% absolute Scope 1+2 cut and 30% Scope 3 cut by 2030 against 2021; 100% green power by 2030.

What hurts

  • Efficiency · No per-prompt figures; Hunyuan is a 389B MoE with 52B active parameters.
  • Carbon · Remaining load on China's coal-heavy grid; the last full inventory in English (2022) was 5.74 MtCO₂e.
  • Water · No WUE or consumption figures published.

What nobody knows

  • Per-prompt energy disclosed
  • Per-prompt water disclosed
  • Training emissions in model cards
  • Water-use effectiveness reported
  • Hardware reuse or e-waste reported

Tencent's Hunyuan models serve WeChat and Yuanbao, and its data centres run at an average PUE of 1.246 against a self-imposed 1.25 cap. Renewable electricity jumped from 22% in 2024 to 48.5% in 2025 (82.9% at owned data centres), backed by 6.5 billion kWh of green power bought since 2021. Capex fell 24% in 2025 because it could not buy the GPUs it wanted. Targets: a 70% absolute Scope 1+2 cut and 100% green power by 2030.

Products
Hunyuan (T1, Turbo S, Hunyuan3D) · Yuanbao · Tencent Cloud TI
Hosting
Own T-Block data centres in China (Tianjin, Qingyuan, Chongqing) and Tencent Cloud regions.

Key figures

Per-prompt and fleet metrics. Hover a title for what it means; open “How we got this number” for the working.

How to read the labels:Company figureCompany figure. Published by the company itself. We take it as given and record the scope next to it.Measured independentlyMeasured independently. Measured or estimated by researchers or analysts with no stake in the result.ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Not disclosedNot disclosed. The company publishes nothing on this and no defensible estimate exists.— hover any label.
Energy per promptElectricity used to answer one typical request. Under 0.3 Wh is good. A 10 W LED bulb uses 0.3 Wh in about two minutes.
0.25
Wh / typical prompt
≈ 20.8 smartphone charges per 1,000 prompts
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.TencentEpoch AI

ecogpt.co estimate; no company figure.

How we got this number

Hunyuan's flagship is a 389B mixture-of-experts model with 52B active parameters; a little below a dense frontier model's 0.3 Wh. Uncertainty roughly ±3×.

Water per promptWater evaporated cooling the servers for one request. Scope matters: on-site cooling only, or also the water used to generate the electricity (which adds ≈1.8 mL per Wh).
0.20
mL / typical prompt
≈ 0.40 500 mL bottles per 1,000 prompts
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.TencentEpoch AI

On-site cooling only, so comparable with Google and OpenAI's figures.

How we got this number

0.25 Wh per prompt × 0.8 L/kWh (estimated WUE for T-Block sites with PUE 1.25). Counting the water evaporated to generate the electricity adds ≈0.45 mL.

Carbon per promptGreenhouse gas from one request on the grid where it actually runs. Below 0.1 g is clean. A kilometre in a petrol car is about 170 g.
0.145
gCO₂e / typical prompt
≈ 0.85 km driven (petrol car) per 1,000 prompts
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.TencentEpoch AI

Location-based: what the grid actually emitted. Renewable certificates would bring the market-based figure near zero.

How we got this number

0.25 Wh × 580 gCO₂/kWh (Chinese grid, location-based). Owned data centres are 82.9% renewable, so Tencent's market-based figure would be far lower.

Annual emissionsThe company's whole yearly footprint, in million tonnes of CO₂e. Clouds and device makers dwarf pure labs because they also count shops, logistics or products. Compare the trend, not the size.
5.74
MtCO₂e (2022, all scopes)
Company figureCompany figure. Published by the company itself. We take it as given and record the scope next to it.Tencent

Latest full inventory published in English.

Emissions trendDirection of travel against last year or the company's own baseline. Negative is good. Positive means the AI build-out is outrunning clean energy.
0
% (emissions 'stabilised' despite rising AI load, 2025)
Company figureCompany figure. Published by the company itself. We take it as given and record the scope next to it.Tencent

Company characterisation; no percentage printed.

Water per kWh (WUE)Litres of water consumed per kilowatt-hour of server electricity, across the fleet. 0.15 is excellent, 0.3 is good, 1.8 is the US data-centre average.
0.80
L/kWh
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.TencentKoomey Analytics
How we got this number

No disclosure. T-Block sites use indirect evaporative cooling with a PUE around 1.25; 0.8 L/kWh assumed.

Clean electricityShare of electricity matched with renewable or carbon-free sources. Annual matching counts certificates bought anywhere; hourly matching on the same grid is far stricter.
48.5
% renewable electricity (2025; 82.9% at owned data centres)
Company figureCompany figure. Published by the company itself. We take it as given and record the scope next to it.Tencent

Hardware & materials

The chips, power, copper and future e-waste behind the fleet — the part sustainability reports leave out

Factors we use
AI chips in service
150,000
accelerators (order of magnitude)
≈ 2,083 racks of 72 GPUs
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Data Center Dynamics

GPUs, TPUs or custom accelerators the company runs. Analyst figures are in H100-equivalents, company figures in physical chips.

How we got this number

Tencent publishes no fleet size. Capex reached $10.6bn in 2024, then fell 24% in 2025 because export rules limited GPU purchases; the company says its reserves are 'sufficient' for training. Uncertainty ±2×.

Power draw
195
MW
≈ 146,250 US homes' worth of power
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Data Center DynamicsSemiAnalysis

Megawatts the AI fleet pulls. One megawatt runs roughly 750 US homes.

How we got this number

150,000 accelerators × 1.3 kW each, all-in. Fleet power implied by the chip count.

Electricity a year
1.37
TWh / year
≈ 130,476 US homes for a year
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Data Center DynamicsSemiAnalysis

Terawatt-hours per year. One TWh is a year of electricity for about 95,000 US homes.

How we got this number

195 MW × 8,760 h × 80% utilisation. Compute fleet only.

Carbon baked into the hardware
77.1
ktCO₂e embodied in chips and servers
≈ 16,761 petrol cars driven for a year
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Data Center DynamicsarXiv 2607.05408NVIDIA developer blog

CO₂e emitted making the chips and servers before they answer a single prompt.

How we got this number

150,000 accelerators × 514 kg CO₂e each (chip plus share of the host server). Emitted in manufacturing, before the first prompt is served.

Future e-waste
2,550
tonnes of servers to retire within ~5 years
≈ 14 empty Boeing 747s by weight
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Data Center DynamicsNVIDIAThe Register

Tonnes of server hardware that will be retired in three to five years.

How we got this number

150,000 accelerators × 17 kg of server hardware each. Tomorrow's e-waste unless reused; generative AI could produce 2.5 Mt of it a year by 2030.

Copper in the build
5,265
tonnes of copper in the build
≈ copper for 63,434 electric cars
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Data Center DynamicsSemiAnalysisBHPS&P Global Market Intelligence

Tonnes of copper in cabling, busbars and transformers.

How we got this number

195 MW × 27 t of copper per MW (cabling, busbars, transformers).

Fossil generators on site
75.0
backup diesel generators (implied)
≈ 195 MW of backup capacity
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Data Center DynamicsSemiAnalysisLatitude MediaLatitude Media / Floodlight

Diesel backup units or gas turbines at the data centres, permitted or observed.

How we got this number

195 MW ÷ 2.6 MW per generator, the average size permitted at US data centres. Permit counts are not published fleet-wide; this is the number a fleet this size normally carries.

Hardware reused or recycled
—
No hardware reuse or e-waste figure published.
Not disclosedNot disclosed. The company publishes nothing on this and no defensible estimate exists.

Share of retired servers and parts given a second life.

Mineral depletion
—
Only Mistral has published a mineral-depletion figure.
Not disclosedNot disclosed. The company publishes nothing on this and no defensible estimate exists.

Kilograms of antimony-equivalent, the life-cycle unit for scarce minerals consumed.

Score breakdown

Each pillar is 0–100; weights are fixed across the index

Energy efficiency — How much electricity one answer costs.weight 20% · confidence B
62
  • Average PUE 1.246 under a 1.25 cap; modular T-Block design reaches 1.06. Tencent
  • No per-prompt figures; Hunyuan is a 389B MoE with 52B active parameters. Tencent
Carbon intensity — How clean that electricity is, and whether total emissions are rising.weight 25% · confidence B
58
  • Renewable electricity 48.5% in 2025, up from 22% in 2024, and 82.9% at owned data centres; 6.5 billion kWh of green power procured; 80 MW of on-site generation built or under way. Tencent
  • Remaining load on China's coal-heavy grid; the last full inventory in English (2022) was 5.74 MtCO₂e. Tencent
Water — How much water the data centres consume, and whether it is replaced.weight 15% · confidence C
45
  • No WUE or consumption figures published. Tencent
Transparency — How much the company actually publishes.weight 20% · confidence B
55
  • Carbon-neutrality mid-term report with verified data and targets; no AI-specific energy or water. TencentTencent
Commitments — Whether it has dated, measurable climate and water targets.weight 10% · confidence A
68
  • 70% absolute Scope 1+2 cut and 30% Scope 3 cut by 2030 against 2021; 100% green power by 2030. Tencent
Conduct — How it behaves: permits, lawsuits, gas turbines, community water.weight 10% · confidence B
65
  • Slowed GPU deployment after DeepSeek's efficiency gains rather than overbuilding, and says it has enough chips for training. Data Center Dynamics
  • No enforcement actions on record. Tencent

Models

What this company ships, and what each prompt costs

ModelWeightsEnergy / promptWaterTraining CO₂e
Hunyuan T1 / Turbo S
389B total / 52B active (MoE)
Closed0.25 Wh Estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.0.200 mL Estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.4,000 t Estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.

Where the compute lives

Named sites from company disclosures and press reporting

OperationalConstructionPlanned
  • Shenzhen HQGuangdong, China
  • TianjinTianjin, China · T-Block modular campus.
  • QingyuanGuangdong, China
  • ChongqingChongqing, China