Skip to content

#9 of 30 · Model hub & inference platform

Hugging Face

Built the AI Energy Score; hosts a million models on other people's clouds.

New York, New York·huggingface.co ·Verified Oct 17, 2026
CMostly estimates
Index score
Mostly estimates

In plain words

How scores work

Hugging Face scores 59 out of 100 — middle of the pack. Some disclosure or clean-energy commitments, offset by rising emissions or blind spots. Confidence in this score is mostly estimates (C).

What helps

  • Efficiency · Runs the AI Energy Score leaderboard (166 models, 10 tasks) and the CodeCarbon tracker; the Hub's traffic skews to small models.
  • Transparency · Model cards carry a carbon-emissions field; the BLOOM study disclosed ≈50 tCO₂e for a full life cycle; measurement tools are open source.
  • Conduct · Built and open-sourced the tools the field uses to measure AI energy, and publishes comparisons that name proprietary models.

What hurts

  • Efficiency · No figure for the energy of its own hosted inference.
  • Transparency · No corporate inventory or report.

What nobody knows

  • Per-prompt water disclosed
  • Annual environmental report
  • Location-based Scope 2 reported
  • Water-use effectiveness reported
  • Hardware reuse or e-waste reported

Hugging Face is where open-weight models live: the Hub, Inference Endpoints and Spaces run on AWS, Google Cloud and Azure. Its climate lead Sasha Luccioni co-authored the BLOOM life-cycle study (about 50 tCO₂e for training and running a 176B model), built the CodeCarbon tracker and the AI Energy Score with Salesforce, Cohere and Carnegie Mellon — the benchmark this index leans on. The company publishes no corporate footprint of its own, which is small, and its hosted traffic inherits its clouds' claims.

Products
Hugging Face Hub · Inference Endpoints · Spaces · AI Energy Score leaderboard
Hosting
AWS, Google Cloud and Azure; no own data centres.

Key figures

Per-prompt and fleet metrics. Hover a title for what it means; open “How we got this number” for the working.

How to read the labels:Company figureCompany figure. Published by the company itself. We take it as given and record the scope next to it.Measured independentlyMeasured independently. Measured or estimated by researchers or analysts with no stake in the result.ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Not disclosedNot disclosed. The company publishes nothing on this and no defensible estimate exists.— hover any label.
Energy per promptElectricity used to answer one typical request. Under 0.3 Wh is good. A 10 W LED bulb uses 0.3 Wh in about two minutes.
0.10
Wh / typical prompt
≈ 8.33 smartphone charges per 1,000 prompts
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Luccioni, Jernite, Strubell (arXiv 2311.16863)Hugging Face, Salesforce, Cohere, Carnegie Mellon

ecogpt.co estimate; no company figure.

How we got this number

Most Hub inference runs small and mid-size open models: the measured sub-10B median is 0.042 Wh and 70B-class models are about 0.25 Wh. Uncertainty roughly ±3×.

Water per promptWater evaporated cooling the servers for one request. Scope matters: on-site cooling only, or also the water used to generate the electricity (which adds ≈1.8 mL per Wh).
0.02
mL / typical prompt
≈ 0.03 500 mL bottles per 1,000 prompts
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Luccioni, Jernite, Strubell (arXiv 2311.16863)Hugging Face, Salesforce, Cohere, Carnegie MellonAmazon

On-site cooling only, so comparable with Google and OpenAI's figures.

How we got this number

0.1 Wh per prompt × 0.15 L/kWh (AWS's disclosed fleet WUE (primary host)). Counting the water evaporated to generate the electricity adds ≈0.18 mL.

Carbon per promptGreenhouse gas from one request on the grid where it actually runs. Below 0.1 g is clean. A kilometre in a petrol car is about 170 g.
0.039
gCO₂e / typical prompt
≈ 0.23 km driven (petrol car) per 1,000 prompts
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Luccioni, Jernite, Strubell (arXiv 2311.16863)Hugging Face, Salesforce, Cohere, Carnegie Mellon

Location-based: what the grid actually emitted. Renewable certificates would bring the market-based figure near zero.

How we got this number

0.1 Wh × 390 gCO₂/kWh (US grid, location-based).

Annual emissionsThe company's whole yearly footprint, in million tonnes of CO₂e. Clouds and device makers dwarf pure labs because they also count shops, logistics or products. Compare the trend, not the size.
0.02
MtCO₂e / year (hosted inference only)
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Masters of Scale

Location-based estimate for the AI fleet only; not comparable with a full corporate inventory.

How we got this number

7 MW × 8,760 h × 80% utilisation × 390 gCO₂/kWh (US grid). Compute only — nothing else the company does is counted.

Emissions trendDirection of travel against last year or the company's own baseline. Negative is good. Positive means the AI build-out is outrunning clean energy.
+50.0
% (hosted traffic growth)
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Masters of Scale
How we got this number

No inventory exists; Hub downloads and hosted inference have grown roughly by half each year.

Water per kWh (WUE)Litres of water consumed per kilowatt-hour of server electricity, across the fleet. 0.15 is excellent, 0.3 is good, 1.8 is the US data-centre average.
0.15
L/kWh (inherited from AWS)
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Amazon
How we got this number

No disclosure; AWS's fleet figure applies to the capacity it rents there, Google's 1.15 to the rest.

Clean electricityShare of electricity matched with renewable or carbon-free sources. Annual matching counts certificates bought anywhere; hourly matching on the same grid is far stricter.
100
% annual renewable matching (inherited from hosts)
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.AmazonGoogle
How we got this number

AWS, Google and Microsoft all match 100% of electricity annually; Hugging Face has no procurement of its own.

Hardware & materials

The chips, power, copper and future e-waste behind the fleet — the part sustainability reports leave out

Factors we use
AI chips in service
5,000
GPU-equivalents leased for Inference Endpoints and Spaces
≈ 69 racks of 72 GPUs
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Masters of Scale

GPUs, TPUs or custom accelerators the company runs. Analyst figures are in H100-equivalents, company figures in physical chips.

How we got this number

Hugging Face serves from AWS, Google Cloud and Azure rather than its own fleet; a few thousand GPU-equivalents at any time. ±3×.

Power draw
7.00
MW
≈ 5,250 US homes' worth of power
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Masters of ScaleSemiAnalysis

Megawatts the AI fleet pulls. One megawatt runs roughly 750 US homes.

How we got this number

5,000 accelerators × 1.3 kW each, all-in. Fleet power implied by the chip count.

Electricity a year
0.05
TWh / year
≈ 4,762 US homes for a year
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Masters of ScaleSemiAnalysis

Terawatt-hours per year. One TWh is a year of electricity for about 95,000 US homes.

How we got this number

7 MW × 8,760 h × 80% utilisation. Compute fleet only.

Carbon baked into the hardware
2.6
ktCO₂e embodied in chips and servers
≈ 565 petrol cars driven for a year
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Masters of ScalearXiv 2607.05408NVIDIA developer blog

CO₂e emitted making the chips and servers before they answer a single prompt.

How we got this number

5,000 accelerators × 514 kg CO₂e each (chip plus share of the host server). Emitted in manufacturing, before the first prompt is served.

Future e-waste
85.0
tonnes of servers to retire within ~5 years
≈ 0.5 empty Boeing 747s by weight
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Masters of ScaleNVIDIAThe Register

Tonnes of server hardware that will be retired in three to five years.

How we got this number

5,000 accelerators × 17 kg of server hardware each. Tomorrow's e-waste unless reused; generative AI could produce 2.5 Mt of it a year by 2030.

Copper in the build
189
tonnes of copper in the build
≈ copper for 2,277 electric cars
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Masters of ScaleSemiAnalysisBHPS&P Global Market Intelligence

Tonnes of copper in cabling, busbars and transformers.

How we got this number

7 MW × 27 t of copper per MW (cabling, busbars, transformers).

Fossil generators on site
3.00
backup diesel generators (implied)
≈ 7.8 MW of backup capacity
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Masters of ScaleSemiAnalysisLatitude MediaLatitude Media / Floodlight

Diesel backup units or gas turbines at the data centres, permitted or observed.

How we got this number

7 MW ÷ 2.6 MW per generator, the average size permitted at US data centres. Permit counts are not published fleet-wide; this is the number a fleet this size normally carries.

Hardware reused or recycled
—
No hardware reuse or e-waste figure published.
Not disclosedNot disclosed. The company publishes nothing on this and no defensible estimate exists.

Share of retired servers and parts given a second life.

Mineral depletion
—
Only Mistral has published a mineral-depletion figure.
Not disclosedNot disclosed. The company publishes nothing on this and no defensible estimate exists.

Kilograms of antimony-equivalent, the life-cycle unit for scarce minerals consumed.

Score breakdown

Each pillar is 0–100; weights are fixed across the index

Energy efficiency — How much electricity one answer costs.weight 20% · confidence B
70
Carbon intensity — How clean that electricity is, and whether total emissions are rising.weight 25% · confidence C
55
  • Serves from AWS, Google Cloud and Azure; inherits their annual renewable matching. AmazonGoogle
Water — How much water the data centres consume, and whether it is replaced.weight 15% · confidence C
55
Transparency — How much the company actually publishes.weight 20% · confidence B
60
Commitments — Whether it has dated, measurable climate and water targets.weight 10% · confidence C
30
Conduct — How it behaves: permits, lawsuits, gas turbines, community water.weight 10% · confidence B
80

Models

What this company ships, and what each prompt costs

No model-level entries — this company hosts or supplies others rather than serving its own models.

Where the compute lives

Named sites from company disclosures and press reporting

OperationalConstructionPlanned
  • New York HQNew York, USA
  • Paris officeFrance
  • AWS us-east-1Virginia, USA
  • Google Cloud us-central1Iowa, USA